The association Bintumani D-SL has applied to the Decade Project “Sustainable Learning” with the Hans-Böckler-Schule (Oberstufenzentrum Konstruktions-bautechnik) in recent years.
We have received several awards for our long-term commitment, especially for the African project in Sierra Leone.

The two members of the association, Erich Kotnik (founding member, deceased in 2013)
and Norbert Hoffmann were awarded the Bundesverdienstkreuz (Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany) for their long-standing social commitment, especially for Sierra Leone.

Award from the SolarZentrum Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania for the idea to establish an “Information and Training Centre for Renewable, Decentralised Energies” in Freetown and Kontakt Line, Sierra Leone.

More and more photovoltaic systems are being installed in Sierra Leone. However, there are no specialists for the maintenance and repair of the systems. This is where we want to start and offer assistance.

Award 2016

The village of Meni Curve in Sierra Leone is equipped with a wide range of electrical equipment. The village, which used to live without electricity, will be equipped with sustainable photovoltaic systems.
50 houses
A school
A hospital ward, with a fridge to store medicines for longer.

The Solarzentrum Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania has honoured this commitment of our association.

press release

Stadtwerke Konstanz GmbH


Bintumani Deutschland-Sierra Leone is the winner of the Enspire Award endowed with 5,000 Euro.

Konstanz The association Bintumani Deutschland-Sierra Leone wins the Enspire Award 2016, which is endowed with 5,000 euros.”The innovative project to supply the Meni Curve project village in Sierra Leone with solar energy has convinced our jury of experts,” says Kuno Werner, managing director of the public utility company Stadtwerke Konstanz. Together with jury member Marion Hammerl, Managing Director of the Bodensee Foundation and other representatives of the public utilities, he presented the cheque to Norbert Hoffmann. Dr. Ladipoh, chairman of the Bintumani association, is very pleased about the award of the Enspire Award:”With the prize money we can promote the social and economic use of solar technology in our project village Meni Curve and give all inhabitants a new, sustainable perspective.”. 

Enspire Energie, the nationwide green electricity brand of the Stadtwerke Konstanz public utility company, is certified with the Green Electricity Label. The certification now supports the winning project. The jury was made up of Marion Hammerl, Prof. Dr. Maike Sippel, Faculty of Civil Engineering at the University of Applied Sciences Konstanz, as well as the graduate geographer and graduate tropical technologist Rosa Hemmers, Chairwoman of the Grüner Strom Label e. V. The Enspire Award was awarded for the third time in 2016. 

The winning project 

The prize money will be used to provide Meni Curve, a small town in the northeastern part of Sierra Le-one in West Africa, with its own energy supply. The village will be equipped with photovoltaic systems in 2016/2017 and will then have solar power from renewable energies. The systems of the houses are equipped with a specially developed hard- and software box. These boxes enable the individual PV systems to be networked to create an intelligent, decentralised power grid. The installation and maintenance of the systems is carried out by the regional project partner Barefoot Solar Women Engineers. 

The innovative Smart Grid enables the inhabitants of the village to trade in self-produced solar power: they can sell electricity that they do not need to their neighbours. This additional source of income helps the residents to finance their own solar system. In addition, the system enables residents to generate electricity if their own PV system does not meet their needs. 

The existing energy can be used more economically by networking the individual plants and the investment costs per kilowatt hour consumed can be reduced in this way. This in turn creates new investment opportunities, for example for a solar-powered drinking water well or electrically powered miniature tools for production. The costs of the project can be covered by the 5,000 Euro grant from the Enspire A-ward. 

Infos on the green electricity label: 

It is the oldest and most demanding seal of quality in Germany and the only one that is supported by environmental associations. The central criteria for certification are the origin of green electricity and the promotion of the expansion of renewable energies through a fixed amount per kilowatt hour sold. Info: 

Information about the Enspire Award: 

The Enspire Award is based on the nationwide green electricity brand of the public utility company Kon-stanz. Enspire Energie supplies natural electricity from 100 percent German hydropower and has been awarded the Green Electricity Label. The certification will support the winning project. The Enspire Award, established with the aim of establishing renewable energies in emerging and developing countries outside the EU, was presented for the third time in 2016. Info: 

Info about the association Bintumani: 

The Bintumani association was founded in 1998 by German and Sierra Leonean citizens. The social and economic consequences of the civil war that lasted until 2002 for Sierra-Leone are immense. From the founding of the association until today, Bintumani has handed over ten overseas containers with relief supplies to the partner organisations in Sierra-Leone. In many on-site visits Bintumani supported the partners with know-how and energy. For example, training courses for medical staff were held; German doctors operated in the field of paediatric surgery. At present, the focus is on the sustainable development of Sierra Leone. Energy technology plays an important role in this. 

Photo: Awarding of the Enspire Award 2016 to the association Bintumani: (from left) Jury member Marion Hammerl, Managing Director of the Bodensee-Stiftung, Dirk Gutzeit, Phaesun, Norbert Hoffmann, Bintumani, Managing Director of the Stadtwerke Kuno Werner, Dr. Jacob Ladipoh, Bin-tumani, Steffen Maier, Project Manager Enspire Award, and Gordon Appel, Head of the Bintumani Association.

The village “Meni Curve” has received electric power for lighting of houses, school and infirmary.

Together with the company “soldesign”, we have developed the KARANA monitoring system for the sustainable use of installed systems. It will be docked to all PV systems at the beginning of 2018 and provides corresponding data that can be read and recognized by the “barefoot women solar engineers” for quick maintenance.

For this hardware and software project in Meni Curve, the Solar Centre Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania has presented us with an award.

This post is also available in: Deutsch

Auszeichnungen

Der Verein Bintumani D-SL hat sich mit der Hans-Böckler-Schule (Oberstufenzentrum Konstruktions-bautechnik) in den letzten Jahren zum Dekadeprojekt „Nachhaltig Lernen“ beworben.
Für unser langjähriges Engagement, insbesondere für das Afrikaprojekt in Sierra Leone, wurden wir hierfür mehrfach ausgezeichnet.

Den beiden Vereinsmitgliedern Erich Kotnik (Gründungsmitglied, verstorben 2013)
und Norbert Hoffmann wurden für Ihr jahrelanges soziales Engagement, insbesondere für Sierra Leone, das Bundesverdienstkreuz (Verdienstorden der Bundesrepublik Deutschland) verliehen.

Auszeichnung vom SolarZentrum Mecklenburg-Vorpommern für die Idee ein „Informations- und Ausbildungszentrum erneuerbare, dezentrale Energien“  in Freetown und Konta Line, Sierra Leone, einzurichten.

In dem Land Sierra Leone werden immer mehr Photovoltaikanlagen installiert. Es gibt aber keine Fachkräfte zur Wartung und Reparatur der Anlagen. Hier wollen wir ansetzen und Hilfen anbieten.

Auszeichnung 2016

Das Dorf Meni Curve in Sierra Leone bekommt eine umfangreiche elektrische Ausstattung. Das Dorf, das bisher stromlos gelebt hat, wird nachhaltig mit Photovoltaikanlagen ausgestattet.
50 Häuser
Eine Schule
Eine Krankenstation, zusätzlich mit einem Kühlschrank um Medikamente länger zu lagern.

Dieses Engagement unseres Vereins hat das Solarzentrum Mecklenburg-Vorpommern ausgezeichnet.

 Presseinformation 

Stadtwerke Konstanz GmbH 

08.12.2016 

Verein Bintumani Deutschland-Sierra Leone ist Gewinner des mit 5.000 Euro dotier-ten Enspire Award 

Konstanz. Der Verein Bintumani Deutschland-Sierra Leone gewinnt den mit 5.000 Euro do-tierten Enspire Award 2016. „Das innovative Projekt zur autarken und nachhaltigen Versor-gung des Projektdorfes Meni Curve in Sierra Leone mit solarem Strom hat unsere Fachjury überzeugt“, sagt Kuno Werner, Geschäftsführer der Stadtwerke Konstanz. Gemeinsam mit Jury-Mitglied Marion Hammerl, Geschäftsführerin der Bodensee-Stiftung, und weiteren Vertretern der Stadtwerke überreichte er den Scheck an Norbert Hoffmann. Dr. Ladipoh, Vorstand des Vereins Bintumani, freut sich sehr über die Verleihung des Enspire Award: „Mit dem Preisgeld können wir den sozialen und ökonomischen Umgang mit Solartechnik in unserem Projektdorf Meni Curve fördern und allen Einwohnern eine neue, nachhaltige Perspektive geben.“ 

Enspire Energie, die bundesweite Ökostrom-Marke der Stadtwerke Konstanz, ist mit dem Grüner Strom-Label zertifiziert. Im Rahmen der Zertifizierung wird nun das Gewinner-Pro-jekt gefördert. In der Jury saßen neben Marion Hammerl Prof. Dr. Maike Sippel, Fakultät Bauingenieurwesen der Hochschule Konstanz Technik, Wirtschaft und Gestaltung (HTWG), sowie Diplom-Geographin und Diplom-Tropentechnologin Rosa Hemmers, Vorsit-zende des Grüner Strom Label e.V. Der Enspire Award wurde 2016 zum dritten Mal verge-ben. 

Das Gewinnerprojekt 

Mit dem Preisgeld wird Meni Curve, einem kleinen Ort im Nordosten des Landes Sierra Le-one in Westafrika, die eigenständige Energieversorgung ermöglicht. Das Dorf wird 2016/2017 mit Photovoltaik-Anlagen ausgestattet und verfügt dann über Solarstrom aus erneuerbaren Energien. Die Anlagen der Häuser werden mit einer speziell entwickelten Hard- und Softwarebox ausgestattet. Diese Boxen ermöglichen die Vernetzung der einzel-nen PV-Anlagen, so dass ein intelligentes, dezentrales Stromnetz entsteht. Die Installation und Wartung der Systeme wird durch den regionalen Projektpartner Barefoot Solar Women Engineers durchgeführt. 

Das innovative Smart Grid ermöglicht den Bewohnern des Dorfes den Handel mit selbst er-zeugtem Solarstrom: So können sie Strom, den sie nicht benötigen, an ihre Nachbarn ver-kaufen. Diese zusätzliche Einnahmequelle hilft den Bewohnern bei der Finanzierung der eigenen Solaranlage. Außerdem ermöglicht das System, dass die Bewohner Strom zukau-fen können, falls der Bedarf durch das eigene PV-System nicht gedeckt wird. 

Die vorhandene Energie kann durch die Vernetzung der einzelnen Anlagen volkswirtschaft-licher genutzt und die Investitionskosten pro verbrauchter Kilowattstunde können so ge-senkt werden. Dies wiederum schafft neue Investitionsmöglichkeiten, etwa für einen solar-betriebenen Trinkwasser-Brunnen oder elektrisch betriebene Kleinstwerkzeuge für die Pro-duktion. Die Kosten für das Projekt können mit den 5.000 Euro Fördergeld des Enspire A-wards abgedeckt werden. 

Infos zum Grüner Strom-Label: 

Es ist das älteste und anspruchsvollste Gütesiegel in Deutschland sowie das einzige, das von Umweltverbänden getragen wird. Zentrale Kriterien der Zertifizierung sind die Herkunft des Ökostroms und die Förderung des Ausbaus erneuerbarer Energien durch einen festen Betrag je verkaufter Kilowattstunde. Infos: www.gruenerstromlabel.de 

Infos zum Enspire Award: 

Hinter dem Enspire Award steckt die bundesweite Ökostrom-Marke der Stadtwerke Kon-stanz. Enspire Energie liefert natürlichen Strom aus 100 Prozent deutscher Wasserkraft und ist mit dem Grüner Strom-Label ausgezeichnet. Im Rahmen der Zertifizierung wird das Gewinner-Projekt gefördert. Der Enspire Award, gegründet mit dem Ziel erneuerbare Ener-gien in Schwellen- und Entwicklungsländern außerhalb der EU zu etablieren, wurde 2016 bereits zum dritten Mal vergeben. Infos: www.enspire-energie.de/award-entwicklungszu-sammenarbeit 

Infos zum Verein Bintumani: 

Der Verein Bintumani wurde 1998 von deutschen und sierra-leonischen Bürgern gegrün-det. Die sozialen und wirtschaftlichen Folgen des bis 2002 andauernden Bürgerkriegs für Sierra-Leone sind immens. Von der Gründungszeit des Vereins bis heute hat Bintumani zehn Überseecontainer mit Hilfsgütern an die Partnerorganisationen in Sierra-Leone über-geben. In vielen Vor-Ort-Besuchen unterstützte Bintumani die Partner mit Knowhow und Tatkraft. Beispielsweise wurden Schulungen des medizinischen Personals durchgeführt; deutsche Ärzte operierten im Bereich der Kinderchirurgie. Aktuell liegt der Fokus auf der nachhaltigen Weiterentwicklung Sierra Leones. Dabei spielt die Energietechnik eine wich-tige Rolle. 

Bild: Vergabe des Enspire Awards 2016 an den Verein Bintumani: (von links) Jury-Mitglied Marion Hammerl, Geschäftsführerin der Bodensee-Stiftung, Dirk Gutzeit, Phaesun, Norbert Hoffmann, Bintumani, Stadtwerke-Geschäftsführer Kuno Werner, Dr. Jacob Ladipoh, Bin-tumani, Steffen Maier, Projektleiter Enspire Award, und Gordon Appel, Leiter Produktma-nagement bei den Stadtwerken Konstanz.