Meni Curve

Meni Curve (Magbapsa)
is a small town in the northwest of Sierra Leone. The pictures on the right give a small overview of the situation of the village. At a fork in the road, in the green area of the Little Scarcies river, 650 people live in about 60 houses. More than half of them are under the age of 18. In the village there is a primary school with 4 classrooms and a small infirmary. The families earn their living through agriculture and small trade. The nearest shop is 5 km away.

The living conditions are more than difficult. Water is fetched from the river 800 meters away. Usually by the women and children. A river that is also used for personal hygiene and washing clothes. In all houses of the village there is no electricity. The necessary light, after the short twilight period at night, is donated by burning black kerosene lamps. Unhealthy for the airways. This village stands in its structure for the majority of the villages outside the 5 larger cities in Sierra Leone.

Our partner organisation, the “barefoot women solar engineers”, have suggested to us in talks to support the village Meni Curve. We have implemented this. In 2016 and 2017, 50 houses, the school and the infirmary were equipped with small photovoltaic systems. The kerosene lamps will then be a thing of the past. The infirmary will also have a refrigerator for safe storage of the medicines.

The village has light. In the meantime, all 52 solar systems have been installed.
In cooperation with the company Phaesun ( http://www.phaesun.com/home.html ) in Memmingen) the following technical equipment was chosen and financed:

SHS on the houses:
Energy Comfort Kit Solar Side Kit Three 1.0 1x Solar Side Seven, 2x Solar module 10 W,| 12 VDC,| poly, 1x Super Illu 270 lm, 1x Super Illu 450 lm, 1x Sunflower 270 lm, 2x Illu plug cable 5 m, 2x extension cable 5 m, 1x USB mobile phone adapter set

Health Station:
BOSS KitKeep Fresh, 24 VDC, incl. cable, installation material, module holder, solar charge controller, 2x 140 Wp module, 2x 65 Ah sealed battery
School:
Rural Electrification Kit En Light IG3 1.0,2 LED tubes 11W/1,100 lm, 2 modules 30W, 2 batteries 38Ah

These installed photovoltaic systems enable a CO2 restriction of approx. 15 tons per year!

Mr. Ken Kokker from the Bintumani Association in Sierra Leone, in cooperation with barefoot women solar engineers, helped install the systems and sent us this report:  

This post is also available in: Deutsch

Meni Curve

Meni Curve
ist ein kleiner Ort im Nordwesten des Landes Sierra Leone. Die Bilder rechts geben einen kleinen Überblick zur Situation des Dorfes. An einer Weggabelung, im grünen Gebiet des Flusses Little Scarcies, leben in ca. 60 Häusern 650 Menschen. Davon ist über die Hälfte der Bewohner unter 18 Jahre alt. In dem Dorf gibt es eine Grundschule mit 4 Schulräumen und eine kleine Krankenstation. Den Lebensunterhalt bestreiten die Familien durch Landwirtschaft und kleinem Handel.  Der nächste Einkaufsladen ist 5 km  entfernt.

Die Lebensumstände sind mehr als beschwerlich. Wasser wird  aus dem 800 Meter entfernten Fluß geholt. In der Regel durch die Frauen und Kinder,. Ein Fluß der auch für die Körperhygiene dient, sowie zum Waschen der Kleidung. In allen Häusern des Dorfes gibt es kein Strom. Das notwendige Licht, nach der kurzen Dämmerungszeit, in der Nacht, wird durch abbrennen von blackenden Kerosinlampen gespendet. Ungesund für die Atemwege. Dieses Dorf steht in seiner Struktur für die Mehrzahl der Dörfer ausserhalb  der 5 größeren Städte in Sierra Leone. 

Unsere Partnerorganisation, die „barefoot women solar engineers“, haben uns in Gesprächen vorgeschlagen das Dorf Meni Curve zu unterstützen. Das haben wir umgesetzt. 2016 und 2017 wurden 50 Häuser, die Schule und die Krankenstation mit kleinen Photovoltaikanlagen ausgestattet. Die Kerosinlampen sollen dann der Vergangenheit angehören. Die Krankenstation bekommt dazu noch einen Kühlschrank zum sicheren Aufbewahren der Medikamente. 

Meni Curve hat Licht

Die dezentrale nachhaltige Stromversorgung soll der weiteren Entwicklung der Menschen in dem Dorf eine Hilfe sein.

 

|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|

Das Dorf hat Licht. Inzwischen sind alle 52 Solaranlagen installiert.

In der Zusammenarbeit mit der Fa. Phaesun ( http://www.phaesun.com/home.html ) in Memmingen) wurden folgende technische Ausstattungen gewählt und finanziert:

SHS auf den Wohnhäusern:
Energy Comfort Kit Solar Side Kit Three 1.0 1x Solar Side Seven, 2x Solarmodul 10 W,| 12 VDC,| poly, 1x Super Illu 270 lm, 1x Super Illu 450 lm, 1x Sunflower 270 lm, 2x Illu Stecker Kabel 5 m, 2x Verlängerungskabel 5 m, 1x USB Mobiltelefon Adapterset

Krankenstation:
BOSS KitKeep Fresh, 24 VDC, inkl. Kabel, Installationsmaterial, Modulhalterung, Solarladeregler, 2x 140 Wp Modul, 2x 65 Ah verschlossene Batterie

Schule:
Rural Electrification Kit En Light IG3 1.0,2 LED Röhren 11W/1,100 lm, 2 Module 30W, 2 Batterien 38Ah

Diese installierten Photovoltaikanlagen ermöglichen eine CO2-Einschränkung von ca. 15 Tonnen pro Jahr!

Mr. Ken Kokker vom Bintumani-Verein in Sierra Leone hat, in Zusammenarbeit mit den barefoot women solar engineers, bei der Installation der Anlagen mitgewirkt und  uns diesen Bericht geschickt:

Report on Solarlight Dustribution at MeniCurve